What are different stages of Liver Damage?


The liver is the largest internal organ in the human body, which efficiently performs functions such as detoxifying blood, storing vitamins, strengthening immune factors and assisting the digestive system. It also possesses regenerative abilities to grow back when damaged.

Like all other organs, Liver also needs good care to protect it against problems like infection or immune issues caused by alcohol abuse or other injuries. In most of the cases liver damage goes through a common pattern, with one leading to the next in severe conditions.

Here are the four stages of liver disease.

Stage 1: Inflammation

Inflammation results from inefficiency of the liver to detoxify foreign substances such as toxins and other drugs, causing the liver to swell or enlarge. Main causes of inflammation are excess fat in the liver, too many toxins or viral infection.

In medical terms, liver condition can be subdivided into categories such as: non-alcoholic fatty liver, alcoholic fatty liver, and liver hepatitis (both viral and autoimmune).

Stage 2: Liver Scarring or Fibrosis

If medical assistance is not availed, liver inflammation can result in scarring of healthy tissues inside the liver, which reduce the liver function to great extents. The scar tissues replace the healthy liver tissue at a rapid rate making the condition even worse. This entire process is called fibrosis or liver scarring.

Functioning of liver drops drastically, while toxins and fats continue to accumulate inside. If the patient continues to neglect the situation for a prolonged period, the liver might completely stop functioning.

Due to liver’s special regenerative capabilities, even at such stage a healthy recovery can be made with proper medication and healthy lifestyle.

Stage 3: Cirrhosis

At this stage, the liver goes through severe scarring, leading to irreversible damage in the organ.

In worst cases, cirrhosis can even lead to liver cancer. Cirrhosis treatment aims at controlling the rate of scarring and treating other symptoms that may worsen the situation.

Common symptoms during Cirrhosis include fatigue, weakness, loss of appetite, weight loss, bloating, swelling of feet, ankles, or legs, spider angiomas, and jaundice.

Stage 4: Liver failure

Liver failure is mainly chronic or acute, depending on the condition of the patient. Acute liver failure is instantaneous resulting from poison or a drug overdose. While chronic liver failure comes from prolonged cirrhosis going on for years. The only option left after liver failure is liver transplant.

It is important to have your health checked regularly because, if treated successfully at early stages there are high chances for recovery. At PSRI hospital, we provide the best treatment and nursing to help our patients heal faster and better. To know more visit us at http://www.psrihospital.com/ or call us on our helpline +91-11-30611700.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *